• Champions of the Charles
  • Ioannis Miaoulis and Bob Zimmerman
  • Host Committee
  • Charles River Gallery

Champions of the Charles

Thursday, November 2, 2017
Museum of Science



More than half of CRWA's work is funded by our members and supporters. We depend on generous donors like you to help pay for our critical science and education programs.

Use our secure PayPal system to make a contribution with your Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover card. No PayPal account? Look for the link in Paypal to pay with your debit or credit card. 

 Your donations help fund:

  • CRWA's field science programs, including water quality testing, streamflow monitoring, boilogical sampling and much more.
  • CRWA's presitgious internships, offered during the spring and fall academic semesters, and during the summer.
  • CRWA's work to restore natural hydrology to the urban watershed using rain gardens, trees and other green infrastructure. 
  • CRWA's work in classrooms and schoolyards using tools like our "Watershed in a Box" to teach students about hydrology and the environment. 

Celebrating the Charles River

CRWA honored the Museum of Science at the Champions of the Charles gala on Thursday, November 2nd. The gala, held at the Museum of Science, raised funds to continue CRWA’s ongoing work monitoring and protecting the Charles River. 

More than 200 guests explored the Museum of Science and celebrated an evening of science while dining on incredible food and drink at the gala, the biggest Champions of the Charles to date. Janet Wu, TV journalist and adjunct professor at Emerson College, emceed the event.

CRWA honored the Museum of Science with the prestigious Champion of the Charles award for its dedication to science education and for establishing the new Yawkey Gallery on the Charles River. Accepting the award on behalf of the Museum of Science was Dr. Ioannis Miaoulis, President and Director, and Gwill E. York, Chair of the Board of Trustees.

READ MORE: Biggest Champions of the Charles Yet.

Champions of the Charles Photographs

Champions of the Charles Corporate Sponsors

Gold Champions

  • Education First
  • Museum of Science

Silver Champions

  • Boating in Boston
  • Head of the Charles Regatta

Bronze Champions

  • Charles River Apparel
  • hc.jpg
  • Trunk Club

Team Champions

  • Chestnut Hill Realty
  • CLF
  • Dewey Square Group
  • Horsley Witten
  • jetBlue
  • Linnean Solutions
  • MIT
  • crck.png
  • TAJ
  • The Village Bank

Champions of the Charles Individual Sponsors

Gold Champions

Steven and Alexi Conine 
Andy and Linda McLane
Margot C. Pyle

Silver Champions

Jay and Christy Cashman
Eaglemere Foundation/Sarles Family
Jeryl L. and Stephen M. Oristaglio
Robert and Lee Sproull
Gwill York and Paul Maeder

Bronze Champions

Dr. Hamid Benbrahim and Dr. Greta Meszoely
Eugene and Meredith Clapp
Becca Gould and Bob Lagoyda

Diane and Steve Hall
Pat King and Tom Powers 

Team Champions

Robert Margo and Lee Breckenridge
Gordon Burnes and Suzie Tapson
John DeVillars
Laurie and Christopher Doyle
Henry Jao
Elizabeth Johnson
Virginia Lawrence
Brad and Sharon Malt
Alecia Manning

Tani Marinovich and Charles Kouyoumjian
Harland and Ann Riker
Grant Thomas-Lepore
Paul and Jennifer Walsh

Champions of the Charles Host Committee

Diane Hall, Co-Chair
Greta Meszoely, Co-Chair

Sree Balamurugesh
Gordon Burnes and Suzie Tapson
Eugene Clapp
Carolina Comella
John DeVillars
Laurie Doyle
Virginia Lawrence
Sharon Malt
Linda McLane
Jeryl Oristaglio
Grant Thomas-Lepore
Gwill York, Museum of Science


Champions of the Charles

CRWA Events

Support CRWA